Press Release

New Leadership Joins OASIS Board of Directors and Technical Advisory Board

BOSTON, MA, USA; 5 AUGUST 2004 — OASIS, the international standards consortium, today announced the results of the 2004 elections for their Board of Directors and Technical Advisory Board. Mike DeNicola of Fujitsu was elected and Edward Cobb of BEA Systems, Colin Evans of Intel, Frederick Hirsch of Nokia, and Jeff Mischkinsky of Oracle were re-elected by the OASIS membership to provide business leadership to advance OASIS as a major standards-setting body for Web services, e-business, security, and other applications. Each director serves two-year terms.

DeNicola, Cobb, Evans, Hirsch, and Mischkinsky join existing directors whose seats expire in 2005, John Borras of the UK Cabinet Office’s e-Government Unit, Eduardo Gutentag of Sun Microsystems, Jim Hughes of Hewlett-Packard, Christopher Kurt of Microsoft, and Michael Weiner of IBM, as well as Patrick Gannon, who has an appointed seat on the Board as president and CEO of OASIS.

The Consortium also announced the nomination and subsequent appointment of three new members to the OASIS Technical Advisory Board (TAB), a group of industry experts who provide guidance on issues related to strategy, process, interoperability, and scope of OASIS technical work. New OASIS TAB representatives include Jacques Durand of Fujitsu, Michael Mahan of Nokia, Jishnu Mukerji of Hewlett Packard, and Timothy Stevens of LexisNexis.

"As business over the World Wide Web becomes a reality, it is important for the organizations that set the standards for this expansion to have representation from industry leaders around the globe. Recently, OASIS has seen significant growth in its membership from outside of North America, and as a representative of Fujitsu, I am honored to take a seat on the Board of Directors of this truly international standards body," said Mike DeNicola, Director of Industry Relations for Fujitsu.

"I am pleased to have been returned to the OASIS Board of Directors for a second term and look forward to working with the other directors, staff, and the OASIS membership to make OASIS even stronger," said Edward Cobb, VP, Architecture & Standards at BEA Systems.

"Open standards, convergence and interoperability are essential for global business adoption and deployment of e-business standards, especially across diverse industries," said Frederick Hirsch, Senior Architect at Nokia Corporation. "I am pleased to be re-elected to the OASIS Board to serve the membership of OASIS in supporting the mission of the consortium."

"OASIS has played an important role in the development of Web services standards and hosts a number of technical committees working on a broad range of specifications for e-business," said Jeff Mischkinsky, Director of Web Services Standards for Oracle Corporation. "Oracle has always been committed to promoting interoperability based on open industry standards, and I am pleased to continue serving on the OASIS Board of Directors toward that end."

On behalf of the OASIS membership, Patrick Gannon expressed appreciation to departing Board member, Laura Walker, and departing TAB members, Derek Coleman of Hewlett Packard, Chet Ensign of LexisNexis, Jackson He of Intel, and Krishna Sankar of Cisco Systems, for their service and guidance over the past two years.

About OASIS:

OASIS (Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards) is a not-for-profit, international consortium that drives the development, convergence, and adoption of e-business standards. Members themselves set the OASIS technical agenda, using a lightweight, open process expressly designed to promote industry consensus and unite disparate efforts. The consortium produces open standards for Web services, security, e-business, and standardization efforts in the public sector and for application-specific markets. Founded in 1993, OASIS has more than 3,000 participants representing over 600 organizations and individual members in 100 countries. Approved OASIS Standards include AVDL, CAP, DocBook, DSML, ebXML, SAML, SPML, UDDI, WSRP, WSS, XACML, and XCBF.

Press contact:

Carol Geyer OASIS Director of Communications +1.978.667.5115 x290