Press Release

OASIS NEWS Standards Consortium Appoints New Leadership

Hughes Chairs OASIS Board; Glushko Joins as New Director

Boston, MA, USA; 8 March 2005 — OASIS, the international e-business standards consortium, today announced that Jim Hughes of HP has been appointed to chair the OASIS Board of Directors and that Bob Glushko of the University of California at Berkeley has been elected to the Board. Working with fellow directors, members, and staff, Hughes and Glushko will provide business leadership to advance OASIS as a major standards-setting body for Web services, e-business, security, and other applications.

Hughes, who has served on the OASIS Board since 2001, noted, "OASIS is now reaching a broader and more diverse set of implementers with e-business standards that accelerate the adoption of advanced technologies. The Board will continue drive this acceleration by giving value to both the industry at-large and our members."

Former entrepreneur, Bob Glushko, has been a member of OASIS since the consortium was founded as SGML Open in 1993. Now, as an Adjunct Professor in the School of Information Management and Systems, he directs Berkeley’s Center for Document Engineering and teaches courses on XML, business process modeling, information architecture, content management, and model-based application development.

With a diverse background that includes consulting, founding start-ups, working for large companies and now teaching, Glushko is uniquely qualified to represent the balanced member base of the consortium. "As a Board director, I will work to keep OASIS focused on the need for its standards to be compatible with the requirements, values, and business models of the not-for-profit institutions in society."

OASIS is distinguished by its transparent governance, which is accountable and unrestricted. Officers of the OASIS Board of Directors are chosen by democratic election to serve two-year terms. Consortium leadership is based on individual merit and is not tied to financial contribution, corporate standing, or special appointment.

Other OASIS Board directors include John Borras of the UK Cabinet Office’s e-Government Unit, Edward Cobb of BEA Systems, Mike DeNicola of Fujitsu, Patrick Gannon of OASIS, Eduardo Gutentag of Sun Microsystems, Frederick Hirsch of Nokia, Christopher Kurt of Microsoft, Jeff Mischkinsky of Oracle, and Michael Weiner of IBM.

On behalf of the organization, Patrick Gannon, president and CEO of OASIS, expressed appreciation to departing Board member, Colin Evans of Intel, for his service and guidance over the past four years.

Additional Information:

OASIS Board of Directors:

About OASIS:

OASIS (Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards) is a not-for-profit, international consortium that drives the development, convergence, and adoption of e-business standards. Members themselves set the OASIS technical agenda, using a lightweight, open process expressly designed to promote industry consensus and unite disparate efforts. The consortium produces open standards for Web services, security, e-business, and standardization efforts in the public sector and for application-specific markets. Founded in 1993, OASIS has more than 4,000 participants representing over 600 organizations and individual members in 100 countries. Approved OASIS Standards include AVDL, CAP, DocBook, DSML, ebXML, SAML, SPML, UBL, UDDI, WS-Reliability, WSRP, WSS, XACML, and XCBF.

Press contact:

Carol Geyer OASIS Director of Communications +1.978.667.5115 x209