< Home | Return to Ballot listing

Ballot Details    TC Member Ballot View
Resolve Issue #73: virtio-net: Add support for the flexible driver notification structure

Should the TC accept changes listed in the description to resolve issue 73, for inclusion in specification version(s) "virtio-v1.2-cs01", and future versions of the specification?

Please vote Yes if you agree with all of the following.
If you disagree, please vote No.
If you don't have an opinion, please vote Abstain.

I move that:
The TC agrees to resolve the following specification issue:
Issue #73: virtio-net: Add support for the flexible driver notification structure
Currently, the driver notification (available buffer notification) has a fixed structure.
If VIRTIO_F_NOTIFICATION_DATA has been negotiated, it includes: vqn, next_off and next_wrap.
If notify_off_multiplier > 0, the VQ number can be derived by the device from the Queue Notify address, so vqn may be redundant.
Some devices benefit from receiving an additional data with driver notifications. This data can optionally replace the vqn field in the driver notification structure.

The latest patch:


The TC accepts the following proposed changes to the specification:

The TC agrees to include the above change(s) in specification version(s) "virtio-v1.2-cs01", and future versions of the


Reminder: A Voting Member must be active in a TC to maintain voting rights. As
the Virtio TC has adopted a standing rule to conduct business only by
electronic ballot, without Meetings, a Voting Member who fails to cast a ballot
in two consecutive Work Product Ballots loses his or her voting rights at the
close of the second ballot missed.


 [ ]  Yes
 [ ]  No
 [ ]  Abstain
Opening:   Wednesday, 11 March 2020 @ 03:30 am EDT
Closing:   Wednesday, 18 March 2020 @ 03:30 am EDT
Group:   OASIS Virtual I/O Device (VIRTIO) TC
Ballot has closed.

Referenced Items
Name Type Date Action

Voting Details

Voting Summary

Options with highest number of votes are bold

Option # Votes % of Total
Yes 0 0%
No 5 100%
Abstain 3
Eligible members who have voted: 5 of 8 63%
Eligible members who have abstained: 3 of 8 38%
Eligible members who have not voted: 0 of 8 0%

Voting Details

Voter Company VoteReference Document and/or Comment
Enrico Granata
Google Inc.
Halil Pasic
Matti Moell
OpenSynergy GmbH
Mihai Carabas
Stefan Hajnoczi
Red Hat
Michael S. Tsirkin
Red Hat
Cornelia Huck
Red Hat
Jan Kiszka
Siemens AG