Ballot Details: Resolution to form the Language Subcommittee of the OpenC2 Technical Committee (CLOSED)

Ballot Question Shall the OpenC2 Technical Committee form the Language Subcommittee?
Ballot Description Preamble:
Whereas the OpenC2 Technical Committee
● was chartered to address matters as they pertain to command and control of cyber defense technologies, and
● the charter defined the drafting of documents, specifications, lexicons, and other artifacts to fulfill the needs of cyber security command and control as being within the scope of the work, and
● the charter acknowledges that a primary focal point is needed to submit and resolve comments to the language description documents,

Then be it resolved:
A subcommittee known as the Language Subcommittee shall be formed with two coequal chairs and other positions, such as secretaries and document editors, as deemed appropriate by the chairs; using working methods agreed to by the SC; with the Statement of Purpose per the attached.

With a purpose of:
● soliciting comments to the language description documents, and
● proposing a resolution of said comments with a recommendation and, if appropriate, a minority report, and
● presenting said proposal to the Technical Committee for consideration, and
● executing the resolution of the comments to the language description document in accordance with the direction provided by the technical committee.

Language Subcommittee Description
The OpenC2 language is a standardized language for the command and control of technologies that provide or support cyber defenses. Future defense will require the integration of new functional blocks, coordination of responses between domains, synchronization of cyber defense mechanisms, and automated actions at machine speed against current and pending attacks. Standard interfaces and protocols are needed to facilitate the integration of components resulting in a more flexible and interoperable cyber defense system. A defined, standardized, and unambiguous machine-to-machine command and control language will help realize this vision.

Statement of Purpose
This OpenC2 Language SC is responsible for the development, maintenance, and resolution of comments to the OpenC2 language documentation, including the language specification documents, use cases, JAEN specification, JSON specification, glossary, etc.

The initial Language Description SC co-chairs, as voted at the inaugural meeting of the OpenC2 Technical Committee, shall be:
● Jason Romano, and
● Duncan Sparrell
All interested parties are welcome to participate in evolving the OpenC2 language as part of the Language SC under the main OASIS OpenC2 Technical Committee.

List of Deliverables
● OpenC2 Language Specification
● JSON Abstract Encoding Notation (JAEN) Specification
● OpenC2 JAEN Schema
● OpenC2 JSON Schema
● OpenC2 Glossary
● Other non-normative work products to increase adoption and improve the ease of use of the specification
Ballot Options
VOTING CLOSED: Monday, 3 July 2017 @ 11:00 am EDT
Yes 31 100
No 0 0
Abstain 0
Open Date Monday, 26 June 2017 @ 11:00 am EDT
Close Date Monday, 3 July 2017 @ 11:00 am EDT
Ballot Type Official, as defined by organization policies and procedures

Voting Statistics

Number of votes cast (excluding abstentions) 31
Eligible members who have voted 31 of 53 58.491%
Eligible members who have not voted 22 of 53 41.509%

Voting Summary by Option

Options with highest number of votes are bold
Option # Votes % of Total
Yes 31 100%
No 0 0%
Abstain 0

Voting Details

Voter Name Company Vote * Time (UTC) Comments
* Andrenacci, Andrea Moviri SPA Yes 2017-07-03 07:01:00
* Athias, Jerome Individual Yes 2017-06-30 17:14:00
* Banghart, Stephen NIST Yes 2017-06-30 14:44:00
* Brule, Joe National Security Agency Yes 2017-06-26 19:20:00
* Darley, Trey New Context Services, Inc. Yes 2017-06-27 07:07:00
* De Bernardi, Andrea Moviri SPA Yes 2017-07-01 07:06:00
* Fai, Joyce National Security Agency Yes 2017-06-26 19:10:00
* Farral, Travis Anomali Yes 2017-06-26 19:35:00
* Fitzgerald-McKay, Jessica National Security Agency Yes 2017-06-30 14:40:00
* Gudenius, Sr., Eric Nteligen, LLC Yes 2017-06-30 14:57:00
* Gurney, John-Mark New Context Services, Inc. Yes 2017-06-29 22:21:00
* Hagen, Stefan Individual Yes 2017-06-26 19:44:00
* Hasumi, Daichi NEC Corporation Yes 2017-06-30 07:05:00
* Jordan, Bret Symantec Corp. Yes 2017-06-30 22:58:00
* Kemp, David National Security Agency Yes 2017-06-26 19:59:00
* Lemire, David G2 Yes 2017-06-27 16:03:00
* Maroney, Patrick Wapack Labs LLC Yes 2017-06-26 21:51:00
* Meck, James FireEye, Inc. Yes 2017-07-02 15:55:00
* Patrick, Paul FireEye, Inc. Yes 2017-06-30 17:55:00
* Pendergast, Andrew ThreatConnect, Inc. Yes 2017-06-30 15:28:00
* Pinto, Alex Individual Yes 2017-06-30 20:58:00
* Riedel, Daniel New Context Services, Inc. Yes 2017-06-28 14:36:00
* Romano, Jason National Security Agency Yes 2017-06-26 20:01:00
* Skeen, Duane Northrop Grumman Yes 2017-06-26 19:35:00
* Sparrell, Duncan sFractal Consulting LLC Yes 2017-06-26 19:47:00
* Storms, Andrew New Context Services, Inc. Yes 2017-06-28 19:04:00
* Stueve, Gerald Fornetix Yes 2017-06-28 20:10:00
* Suarez, Natalie NC4 Yes 2017-06-30 20:13:00
* Thomson, Allan LookingGlass Yes 2017-06-26 21:14:00
* Verma, Jyoti Cisco Systems Yes 2017-06-30 20:35:00
* Yu, Sounil Bank of America Yes 2017-06-30 14:16:00
* Boles, Phillip FireEye, Inc. --
* Cornell, Cody Swimlane, LLC --
* Darnell, David North American Energy Standards Board --
* Davidson, Mark NC4 --
* Everett, Alex University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill --
* Ginn, Jane Cyber Threat Intelligence Network, Inc. (C... --
* Goffin, Glen Lumeta Corporation --
* Hadden, Allen IBM --
* Hunt, Christian New Context Services, Inc. --
* Jolly, John Syncurity --
* Kakumaru, Takahiro NEC Corporation --
* Kirillov, Ivan Mitre Corporation --
* Landfield, Kent McAfee --
* MacGregor, Scott McAfee --
* May, Andrew ViaSat --
* Moore, Sean Centripetal Networks --
* Ortiz, Efrain Symantec Corp. --
* Ricard, Chris Financial Services Information Sharing and... --
* Rolls, Darran SailPoint Technologies --
* Satish, Sourabh Phantom --
* Sooter, Ben Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) --
* Waltermire, David NIST --