OASIS Awards Open Standards Cup and Names Distinguished Contributors

26 Aug 2014--The OASIS consortium recognized outstanding accomplishments in the international ICT community by awarding the 2014 Open Standards Cup to the Universal Business Language (UBL) and the Key Management Interoperability Protocol (KMIP). The consortium also named Ram Jeyaraman of Microsoft, John Tolbert of the Boeing Company, and Norman Walsh as OASIS Distinguished Contributors.

Open Standards Cup Recipients

"UBL has changed the face of e-business and government acquisition practices globally, with adoption in countries including Denmark, Sweden, Turkey, Norway, and the Netherlands," noted Jacques Durant of Fujitsu, chair of the OASIS Technical Advisory Board. "UBL is the basis of e-PRIOR, the e-procurement platform developed by the European Commission and its member states, as well as for the initial deployments of OpenPEPPOL, the Open Pan-European Public Procurement Online system." The UBL Technical Committee was founded by Jon Bosak (one of the originators of XML) and is currently chaired by Tim McGrath and Ken Holman.

"At a time when concerns over data security and information privacy are increasing daily, KMIP has expanded its focus to address the needs of cloud computing," said Chet Ensign, OASIS Director of Standards. "KMIP is injecting new energy into the area of key management." The KMIP Technical Committee is chaired by Subhash Sankuratripati of NetApp and Saikat Saha of Oracle with Robert Lockhart of Thales e-Security as secretary.

Finalists for Outstanding Accomplished Technical Committee include Advanced Message Queuing Protocol (AMQP), Open Data Protocol (OData), and Topology and Orchestration Specification for Cloud Applications (TOSCA). Finalists for Outstanding New Technical Committee include Electronic Trial Master File (eTMF), Key-Value Database Application Interface (KVDB), and OSLC Lifecycle Integration Core (OSLC Core).

Distinguished Contributors

Individuals who have made a significant impact as leaders, consensus-builders, and evangelists for open standards are recognized as OASIS Distinguished Contributors.

Ram Jeyaraman of Microsoft played a major role in bringing AMQP to OASIS and now co-chairs the AMQP Technical Committee. He also co-chairs the OData Technical Committee and is active in WS-I.

John Tolbert of The Boeing Company has been pivotal in defining identity management and security standards. One of the first SAML adopters, he helped SAML become the basis for identity federation in the aerospace industry. He is also active in XACML.

Norman Walsh is known as the driving force behind DocBook, one of the most widely used publishing schemas in the industry--and the most frequently downloaded OASIS Standard of all time.


OASIS is a non-profit, international consortium that drives the development, convergence and adoption of open standards for the global information society. OASIS promotes industry consensus and produces worldwide standards for cloud computing, security, privacy, M2M, IoT, content technologies, Big Data, and other areas. OASIS open standards offer the potential to lower cost, stimulate innovation, grow global markets, and protect the right of free choice of technology. OASIS members broadly represent the marketplace of public and private sector technology leaders, users, and influencers. The consortium has more than 5,000 participants representing over 600 organizations and individual members in 65+ countries.

Press contact: Carol Geyer, OASIS Senior Director, +1.941.284.0403 carol.geyer@oasis-open.org

You'll need Skype CreditFree via Skype